Understanding the Colours of Pride: A Guide to LGBTQ+ Flags

Over the years, the LGBTQ+ community has adopted various flags to symbolise and celebrate its diverse identities. Each flag carries a unique meaning and serves as an emblem of pride and unity. This article will delve into the rich symbolism of various LGBTQ+ flags and what they represent.

The Rainbow Flag

Perhaps the most recognisable LGBTQ+ flag is the Rainbow Flag, also known as the Gay Pride Flag. Gilbert Baker, a San Francisco artist, designed this flag in 1978 at the request of activist Harvey Milk. Originally consisting of eight colours, the flag was later simplified to six stripes: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet. Each colour signifies a different aspect of life:

  • Red: Life
  • Orange: Healing
  • Yellow: Sunlight
  • Green: Nature
  • Blue: Harmony
  • Violet: Spirit

The Bisexual Pride Flag

The Bisexual Pride Flag, created by Michael Page in 1998, comprises three stripes: pink, lavender, and blue. The pink represents attraction to the same sex, the blue symbolises attraction to the opposite sex, and the lavender (a mix of pink and blue) represents attraction to both sexes.

The Transgender Pride Flag

Designed by transgender woman Monica Helms in 1999, the Transgender Pride Flag consists of stripes in light blue, light pink, and white. The light blue represents traditional colour for baby boys, the pink for baby girls, and the white stripe in the middle for those who are transitioning, intersex, or consider themselves as having an undefined gender.

The Pansexual Pride Flag

The Pansexual Pride Flag features three horizontal stripes: magenta, yellow, and cyan. Created in 2010, the flag symbolises the pansexual community's attraction towards people regardless of their gender. The magenta represents female attraction, the cyan male attraction, and the yellow attraction to non-binary and gender-nonconforming individuals.

The Asexual Pride Flag

The Asexual Pride Flag, created in 2010 by the Asexual Visibility and Education Network (AVEN), consists of four horizontal stripes: black, grey, white, and purple. The black stripe symbolises asexuality, the grey stripe grey-sexuality and demi-sexuality, the white stripe sexuality, and the purple stripe community.

The Non-Binary Pride Flag

The Non-Binary Pride Flag was created by activist Kye Rowan in 2014. It includes four horizontal stripes: yellow, white, purple, and black. Yellow symbolises those who identify outside the gender binary, white is for non-binary people with multiple genders, purple for those with a mixture of male and female genders, and black for a-gender individuals.

The Lesbian Pride Flag

The Lesbian Pride Flag includes seven horizontal stripes in various shades of pink, white, and orange. While there are several versions, the most common one is known as the "Lipstick Lesbian" flag. However, a newer version designed by Emily Gwen eliminates the lipstick mark, broadening its inclusivity.


These flags are more than just symbols; they represent the identities, struggles, and triumphs of different groups within the LGBTQ+ community. They stand for the diversity within the community and the solidarity among its members. Regardless of the colours or patterns, each flag shares a common message: an affirmation of identity and a call for acceptance and equality.

St Austell Bid
NHS Cornwall Partnership
Go Cornwall Bus
Cornwall Council

Official Cornwall Pride Partners